Skip to product information
1 of 1

Penguin Random House NZ

Bang!! 2: The Complete History of the Universe

Bang!! 2: The Complete History of the Universe

Regular price $49.00
Regular price Sale price $49.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

by Brian May, Patrick Moore, Chris Lintott and Hannah Wakeford

The story of the Universe from the moment time and space came into existence at the Big Bang. This third edition has a new chapter, all-new photography and has been revised and updated to reflect a decade of new discoveries.

In 2004 a rock star, a TV astronomer and a young research astronomer sat down to write the story of the Universe in the order in which it happened, from its birth at the Big Bang 13.7 billion years ago, through to its ultimate demise in the infinitely far future.

The aim of this book is to explain the Big Bang and everything that followed in a way that made sense, in the strict order in which events occurred, and without using maths, so it would be understandable to everyone, regardless of educational background. The original edition of Bang! was a bestseller, and a go-to for anyone wanting to understand the story of the origins and evolution of our Universe that did not duck the science.

Since the first edition, thousands of planets have been discovered, the 'habitable zone' has expanded and a flotilla of new satellites has explored our own solar system, bringing back fresh images and new science. In this book all the latest findings about the evolution of stars and galaxies are included, and the current thinking about our ultimate origins. The latest ideas about Dark Matter and Dark Energy are explained, all illustrated with new images from the world's largest telescopes and space missions.

This is the new, updated, popular guide to 'Life, the Universe, and Everything' - The Complete History of the Universe.

Pub Date: November 2021
Page Extent: 200
Format: Hard Cover

View full details